stillknow.blogg.se

Watch the movie i spit on your grave with pam grier
Watch the movie i spit on your grave with pam grier










PATRICK SMITH: I’m going to go with NIGHT OF THE COMET, a personal favorite of mine that also happens to have two of my favorite performances ever committed to the apocalyptic wasteland. Minnie Castavet is one of the most complete characterizations ever committed to film. Since Mia already nailed what makes Spacek so great in CARRIE, I’m gonna go with Ruth Gordon in ROSEMARY’S BABY. (Now let’s see… Carrie, Margaret, Miss Collins, Sue, and Chris. The boyfriends are just beautifully-maned pawns. What makes it even better is that the story upends the horror playbook with a story that’s entirely driven by women. And when that all goes to hell, she gets her revenge on everyone who has made her entire life a living hell. Carrie White lives out two of every teenager’s greatest fantasies: She’s goes to prom with the most popular boy in school and is even elected Prom Queen.

watch the movie i spit on your grave with pam grier

For me, CARRIE is the gold standard in women’s horror (is that a thing?). JOHN REENTS: Well consarn it, Mia got there first!. I don’t know how a film I have seen easily over a hundred times can still have the same powerful effect but this one always does! Damn you, Sissy Spacek! Damn you for making me continuously fall in love with Carrie White just to have my heart broken and soul crushed at the end! ugh! Now I have to go pop in the VHS and grab some tissues (and probably a maxi pad). I watch it once a month (period pun here) and every time I’m still totally and completely gutted that her prom turns out so utterly shitty.

watch the movie i spit on your grave with pam grier

MIA MAYO: My favorite female-centric horror flick (and favorite horror film of all time) will always be 1976’s CARRIE.

watch the movie i spit on your grave with pam grier

She says so little and could kill you with a look - but why go that route when an axe will do? Secondly, when Camille Keaton comes back for her pound of flesh (plus interest), she’s the most cool, calm, collected vengeance-seeker the screen has ever seen. RYAN CAREY: Not to kick over a hornet’s nest or anything, but my favorite female-centric horror flick is I SPIT ON YOUR GRAVE. First off, it’s horrifying as shit. MAY is emotional, smart, and bloody! With great 1970s-style gore, and nods to giallo, hammer films, and classic exploitation, I’d have to say that MAY is without a doubt my favorite female centric horror film. With each attempt, she is hurt, and let down. I was wrong, MAY has cemented her reputation as a modern scream queen! As the titular character of MAY, Bettis masterfully portrayed a disenfranchised woman traumatized by a horrible childhood, trying her best to connect with other people. Before MAY, the only thing I knew actress Angela Bettis from was the film GIRL, INTERRUPTED, and I liked her in that…I just didn’t see her as a “horror” actress. Goddadmn, my mind was blown! Director Lucky McGee had created a very cool feminist horror film that played with ideas societal norms, sexuality, and revenge. All I knew was that my boyfriend had read that Clive Barker thought it was amazing. I hadn’t see or heard any thing about the film. JEREMY LOWE: I remember seeing the movie MAY in the theater back in 2003 with little to no expectation. I mean, is there even another horror film with SIX female main characters? The fact that you’re probably searching your brain right now is a sad statement to the persistant boy’s club mentality of horror.įavorite single performance, though? Eihi Shiina as Asami in AUDITION towers above all. Best of all, it’s legitimately scary, and remains powerfully clausterphobic even while watching it at home.

watch the movie i spit on your grave with pam grier

Wonderfully directed and written, with distinct characters who - unlike too many films - respond to the horror surrounding them in a realistic way. It builds from such a beautifully simple idea, but hits every note so perfectly. Prompted by our own Mia Mayo (follow her on Instagram and check out her columns and videos here at Daily Grindhouse), here’s the first group question of 2016: This being Women In Horror Month, WHAT IS YOUR FAVORITE FEMALE-CENTRIC HORROR MOVIE AND HORROR PERFORMANCE?ĭOUG TILLEY: Going to be the first to throw my hat in and say my favorite female-centric horror film is THE DESCENT. We’re happy to do that every day all year round here at Daily Grindhouse, but we’d be remiss if we didn’t throw our support behind this specific initiative.

#WATCH THE MOVIE I SPIT ON YOUR GRAVE WITH PAM GRIER FULL#

It matters because horror is often dismissed as exclusive or even misogynistic - often unfairly, occasionally very much fairly - and it’s important to show the full scope of what good female-friendly and female-created horror is capable of doing for the world. The goal, per the movement’s website, is to help spread far and wide the brilliant contributions of so many women to the genre so many of us love so much. February 2016 is the seventh annual Women In Horror Month, which celebrates the work of women in horror films.










Watch the movie i spit on your grave with pam grier